The Damned Society: Behind The Scenes [Part One]

My debut novel is one that has much angst, adventure and magic but what is the story behind everything? I’ve decided to do a series of post examining my characters, setting and the universe itself so we can get to know my debut novel before its release on November 17th! Starting today with my main protag, Lexia Luccen!

My debut YA Fantasy THE DAMNED SOCIETY: SMOKE AND MIRRORS follows young and confused Lexia Luccen who is having a rather terrible time because of her magical fire ability that she can’t get under control. And with the other stresses in her life playing up such as the death of her father amongst other school issues, it only adds to her problems and one day she loses it all and causes a huge destruction because of her untamed power that sends her to a government facility, for not only society’s protection, but to help her learn to control the beast trying to break out of her soul.

Lexia came to the story very naturally. As my main protagonist, I wanted to share a character that was trying her best to keep her head above water but because of her dangerous secret power, it all got on top of her and she let her anger consume her. I think we as humans have all let this happen at one point and I tried to share her at the beginning of this novel that we all aren’t perfect at hiding our emotions and have these times where stress gets to us. It is natural, we all need to speak out our problems to get a better understanding of them but when we can’t and let the tension build up and control us, we can break.

The fire power seemed rather befitting for all the problems she is trying to deal with in her life. She felt like she was burning on the inside because she couldn’t speak to anyone and I think like Lexia we can feel this too. Though she has many flaws, Lexia is always true to herself and grows in the book in surprising ways. She was such an interesting person to write about as I think many of us will be able to see something in her we can relate too! And of course, writing about magic and superpowers is always so fun!

Lexia may have many issues and things she may need to face before becoming the best version of herself but she is a character that bloomed writing from the first page and I can’t wait to share her with you!

What is a novel character that has always stuck in your mind?

Twitter | Bloglovin | Instagram | Goodreads

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started